Spomb and Mini Spomb Review

I first encountered the spomb a few years back now at a charity fishing competition. It caught my eye at first because of its bomb like appearance, after watching the angler use it to cast 10kg of pellets over the course of the weekend. I got to watch its flight and its accuracy, I was also impressed with the lack off spillage unlike what I had myself encountered using a spod. I was also impressed with the lack of disturbance it made when being retrieved it aquaplanes across the top of the water. (always reminds me of a waterboatman)

I have been using one now for nearly 3 years and have not looked at spod since. No need to have a spod for all occasions the Spomb does it all. Pellet, Boilies, particles, maggots groundbait balls E.T.C . If you want to get something in your swim if it fits inside you can get it there with the spomb.

I use my spomb with a fox warrior spod rod and would recommend using at shock leader as I cracked my first one of and lost it when I knocked the bail arm over on a cast.

When I saw that they were producing a mini Spomb I couldn’t wait as I had been that pleased with my Spomb. But to have a Mini Spomb meant that I could deliver smaller amounts of bait to my swim with reduced disturbance. The mini Spomb is a 1/4 of the size off it big brother, holding around 10-15 15mm boilies where as it big brother holds 60 ish.

The capacity of the mini Spomb. It can take 35 x 10mm boilies, 17 x 15mm boilies and when fully loaded with a heavy bait, like sweetcorn, it weighs 3 oz (85 gm).

I got to use my mini spomb last weekend and was very impressed with it. I was able to deliver a good handle full of maggots to my swim and small amounts of boilies with minimal disturbance and quite good accuracy for me. I also used it on my 3lb test curve carp rod which was more than up to the job of casting the mini Spomb out to my required baited spot. So no need to fork out on a dedicated spod rod.

I would highly recommend that you take a look at the Spomb if you are after a spod.

Spomb’s retail for £12.99 rrp for the Spomb and £9.99 rrp for the Mini Spomb

For more info and stockist see their website Spomb

Spomb video

Mini Spomb video

Leave a Reply

