Rob has a red letter day at Atcham

River convert Rob Kenyon decided on an evening visit to the clubs River Severn stretch at Atcham with very pleasing results, Rob, who’s recently taken to river fishing, takes up the story…

I had a great day yesterday after deciding to go to Atcham. Driving over the river I saw it had a bit of colour which I’ve heard is good for Barbel so my confidence was high.

Arriving to find I had the whole place to myself so I thought I would try and find Poachers field as local bailiff Steve Holland had put a picture on the forum and it looked very fishy. Eventually I found the swim and started feeding halibut pellets for an hour whilst I set up and had a nosey around putting the rods in at 4:30pm.

It didn’t take long before my rod bent right over and a huge battle ensued, my 9ft Shakespeare XT1 has never been bent so much in fact I don’t think I’ve ever had a bend in my rod like that, awesome fun but after 5 minutes of hard fighting it was in the net and weighed in at 8lb 2oz and a new PB for me!!

Robert Kenyon 8lb 2oz Barbel River Severn Atcham

Robert Kenyon 8lb 2oz Barbel River Severn Atcham

This was shortly followed by two more at 3lb12oz and 4lb 2oz, I knew then I was in for good day. I then got snapped up by my best fish of the day and then lost another at the net due to tangled lines.

Robert Kenyon 3lb 12oz Barbel River Severn Atcham

Robert Kenyon 3lb 12oz Barbel River Severn Atcham

Robert Kenyon 4lb 2oz Barbel River Severn Atcham

Robert Kenyon 4lb 2oz Barbel River Severn Atcham

I was fuming at losing the ‘big one’ but not for long another bend in the rod resulting in another Bertie Barbel 8lb 7oz yet another PB and all this before it had gone dark.

Robert Kenyon 8lb 7oz Barbel River Severn Atcham

Robert Kenyon 8lb 7oz Barbel River Severn Atcham

Into darkness we went slowly at first and then bang another Barbel and I’ve got to say playing a Barbel in the dark on the River Severn is quite an experience something I would recommend to any one. This one tipping the scales at 5lb 7oz and then one more about 12:30am at 7lb.

Robert Kenyon 5lb 7oz Barbel River Severn Atcham

Robert Kenyon 5lb 7oz Barbel River Severn Atcham

Robert Kenyon 7lb Barbel River Severn Atcham

Robert Kenyon 7lb Barbel River Severn Atcham

I called it a night, one very happy man and it was off on the long journey home getting in at 3am, totally shattered but still smiling!!

Lymm Admin.

Leave a Reply

