First ‘double’ for Ben!

Lymm AC member, Ben Brady ranks the Daisybank stretch of the River Dane as one of his favourite venues. With just a week of the river season to go, Ben visited this popular stretch still seeking his first double figure barbel. Read his story below………

” I have fished various stretches of the River Dane all my life and I joined Lymm Anglers three seasons ago in a bid to catch my first ever double figure barbel. Since joining Lymm AC, I have fished the Daisybank stretch of the Dane regularly during the winter months, landing many good chub up to 4lb and barbel up to 8lb, but the  magical ‘double’ has always eluded me. Today (8th March) I decided to head down to the river for a couple of hours fishing before dusk. I often find that short dawn and dusk sessions work best on this stretch, particularly when the river is running low and clear. I made the trek down to the river and settled into my chosen swim.

Fishing a simple swan shot leger rig to 10lb line, I trundled a lump of luncheon meat under the far bank tree and waited for it to settle. I had literally been fishing for five minutes when the tip flew round. Fishing with 10lb line to a size 8 hook, I was able to apply enough pressure to turn this fish away from the snags. After several heart stopping minutes the fish rolled on the surface and at that point I knew it was big! The fish then plodded in the margins for another couple of minutes before I was able to draw it over the net. On the scales it went 10lb 5oz, my first ever double figure barbel and from my beloved Dane! To say I was happy with the result would be a real understatement! Fellow angler Mick Woodward witnessed the weigh-in and kindly photographed the fish for me. An incredible moment and an experience that will live with me forever!”

Ben's 10lb 5oz barbel.

Ben’s 10lb 5oz barbel.

Well done, Ben, a cracking fish and well deserved. If you fancy having a go at the sort of fishing Ben has experienced, then simply take a look at our website www.lymmanglersclub.com where you will find details of all our waters and details of our various types of memberships, including the great value ‘all rivers’ card. We look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

