Catch Of The Month April 2015

Welcome to Lymm Angling Club’s catch of the month competition for April. With the weather improving and the temperatures on the rise, April saw some cracking fish entered into the competition.

Some good sized carp from Serpentine pool on the Belmont complex and a big catfish from Spring Pool were the runners up. But our sponsors Viking Baits and Red Eye Baits chose Al Green’s session on Shakerley Mere as the winner. Al provided us with this great report..

Finally I managed to get some decent bank time this year, the weather was awesome and with only one other angler on the lake the fish were in front of my chosen swim. Happy days I thought, I got some bait out and got the rods out onto two of the firmer patches only to be awoken after less than an hour with a Canadian goose flying into the marginal tree line with my rig attached. Not a great start but after a couple of hours of coaxing and feeding and with the help of two ladies we managed to cover goose to calm her and free the rig that was tangled round her leg. Panic over!

I got the rods back out only to have a another take within 10 minutes, this was one fish I felt I must deserve after the earlier dramas. After a short heavy slow scrap the hook pulled at distance and with that big teasing bowwave she was gone . Never mind… staying positive I got the rods back out and settled back down, with the weather warming up the fish were becoming a lot more active and were clearly all over my swim and at around 2pm the left hand rod was off.

After a fairly dull fight the fish was in front of me a nice dark mirror, no monster but looked a lovely fish , net out ready to bring her over the cord when dink out popped the hook…. This was going t be one of those days! A few f’s n jeff’s and turning the air blue I got my rods back out had some lunch and got settled again. The rest of the day stayed quiet I chopped and changed tried a few zigs but nothing. So got my rods set back up for the evening and back out onto the spots.

Al 1

All was quiet until midnight when I had a take on the island rod that resulted in my first fish off the water for 2015 and broke the duck! Not the prettiest fish in the lake but definitely the most welcome and a 20 to boot a mirror that tipped the scales 21.02. Not much happened apart from the usual liners until the morning around 7 am when I had a screaming run and a typically hard fight from the one of smaller commons. A nice and pristine condition low double was the result.

Al 2

The rest of the day was fairly quiet with a dropped run around lunch time and another small 6lb common before packing up to round off an eventful trip. Went home a very happy man to have christened my new rods and broke the seal for this season.

happy days and tight lines.

Well done Al!

If you would like to have a go for fish such as these, then take a look at our website, www.lymmanglersclub.com where you will find details of all our waters and, of course, joining information.

Leave a Reply

